Back to top
Our Partners

Our Partners

Since Teach First NZ’s inception, we have been supported by leading organisations spanning all fields. We believe our mission can only be achieved by working together with others, and the partnerships we have formed represent the collaborative nature of our work.

Support from all sectors

Teach First NZ is a cross-sector initiative. We work with universities, businesses, the Ministry of Education, schools, philanthropic foundations, and other not-for-profit organisations to achieve our aims. While the programme receives important support from the Ministry of Education, we also rely on assistance in the form of grants, pro bono services, and programme involvement to ensure that we can continue our work to expand educational opportunity in New Zealand.


Programme partners

Ministry of Education

The Ministry of Education is the main financial supporter of the training and residential elements of the programme. Teach First NZ also works closely with the Ministry to ensure participants meet the relevant employment regulations in schools, and to ensure schools are adequately resourced to support the programme. 

Teach For All

Launched as part of the Clinton Global Initiative in 2007, Teach For All is a global network of independent programmes working together to expand educational opportunity in their countries, recruiting the most promising future leaders for the effort. Partners of the network aspire to the vision that one day, all children will have the opportunity to attain an excellent education.

The programmes that are part of Teach For All are independently governed, financed, and managed. Teach For All helps accelerate their impact by sharing expertise that exists across the network, enabling all members to benefit from each other’s knowledge and experience.

Through Teach For All, Teach First NZ has sister programmes in over 35 countries including the UK, Australia, Malaysia, Spain, China and Peru. 

For more information, see the Teach For All website.


School partners

Teach First NZ works closely with schools to ensure that participants are placed in supportive environments and are appropriately matched to school needs. Participating schools must satisfy eligibility criteria and have the capacity to support participants to lead their students to achieve.

The current Teach First NZ Consortium of Partner Schools includes:

Aorere College, Avondale College, Auckland Seventh Day Adventist High School, Dargaville High School, De La Salle College, Edgewater College, Mangere College, Manurewa High School, Massey High School, Mt Roskill Grammar School, One Tree Hill College, Onehunga High School, Otahuhu College, Paeroa College, Papatoetoe High School, Rotorua Boys' High School, Rutherford College, Selwyn College, Southern Cross Campus, St Paul's College, Tamaki College, Tangaroa College, Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Pukemiro, Te Kura o Ngāpuke, Te Puke High School, Waitakere College, Wesley College, Whangarei Boys' High School, Whangarei Girls' High School.


Our supporters

Kaitautoko Kauri

Chapman Tripp
Aotearoa Foundation
NEXT Foundation
Woolf Fisher Trust

Teach First NZ Scholarship Partners

Andrew Gawith and Penny Deans
Sir Campbell & Lady Leita Wylie Foundation
Deborah & Ross George
Joyce Fisher Trust
Hugo Charitable Trust

Kaitautoko Rimu

Cognition Education Trust
The Fletcher Trust
Fuji Xerox

Kaitautoko Tōtara

COMET Auckland
First Foundation
Great Potentials (MATES)
Inspiring Stories
InZone Education Foundation
Leadership NZ
NZ Association of Graduate Employers
School Trustees Association
Secondary Principals Association
UN Youth
Young Enterprise Trust